Home News It’s a two-horse race for ANC presidency

It’s a two-horse race for ANC presidency

by Zahid Jadwat

It’s a two-horse race between President Cyril Ramaphosa and disgraced former health minister Dr Zweli Mkhize for the ANC presidency. The party pronounced the leading candidates for the top position, as well as other Top 6 officials, as it geared up for its 55th National Conference.

During a press briefing on Tuesday afternoon at Luthuli House, head of the party’s electoral committee, Kgalema Motlanthe, announced the names of the top six positions in its National Executive Committee (NEC). The candidates were nominated by more than 4,000 branches across the country.

Early campaigners, such as Lindiwe Sisulu, failed to make it to the top. However, the party told reporters there would be an opportunity for nominations from the floor during the conference.

“This process is not complete yet. As you know, at [the] conference itself there will be an opportunity for delegates to nominate from the floor. Of course, any name that musters 25% of voting delegates will then be included on the ballot paper,” said Motlanthe.

Motlanthe added that some odd 200 names contesting for the remaining 80 seats in the NEC will be declared in due course.


SMread: ‘SA a haven for organised crime,’ says expert

Ramaphosa vs Mkhize

It’s a two-horse race for the ANC presidency this year. Current ANC president, Cyril Ramaphosa, was the leading candidate with a total of 2037 nominations. After winning the position in 2017, Ramaphosa pledged to foster unity within the party though factions remained rife as his term drew to a close. More recently, his integrity was brought into question with the Phala Phala saga.

Meanwhile, Dr Zweli Mkhize secured second in the lead just shy of 1000 nominations. The former health minister received 916 nominations from party branches. Initially applauded for his handling of the Covid-19 pandemic, Mkhize soon faced pressure to call it quits after allegations of corruption blemished his reputation.

Deputy president

Current deputy president, David Mabuza, was not in the lead for the position. Paul Mashatile, the ANC’s Treasurer General, was in the lead with 1791 nominations. Ronald Lamola and Oscar Mabuyane are rather far behind, with 427 and 397 nominations respectively.


SMread: The relationship between the ANC and the CIA

Remaining Top 6

Leading candidates for the position of secretary general are:


  • Ndumiseni Ntuli (1225)
  • Phumulo Masualle (427)
    Fikile Mbalula (749)


Leading candidates for the position of deputy secretary general are:

    • Nomvula Mokonyane (1779)
    • Febe Potgieter (905) 


Leading candidates for the position of national chairperson are:

  • Stanley Mathabatha (1492)
  • Gwede Mantashe (978)
  • David Masondo (501)


Finally, the leading candidates for the position of treasurer general are:

  • Benjamin Chauke (552)
  • Pule Mabe (428)
  • Mzwandile Masina (348)


4500 delegates will convene at the Nasrec Expo Centre in Johannesburg between 16 and 20 December to elect new leadership for the next five years. Motlanthe confirmed that all candidates had been vetted and that they had accepted nomination.

Related Videos